Book Blog Memes

As many of you know, I’m pretty new to the blogging scene. Yes, I had a travel blog when I was studying abroad, but that was partially out of force. I just couldn’t convince myself that anyone could possibly care that much about what I was doing. And it wasn’t until I realized that blogging wasn’t necessarily about people finding your life interesting, but about sharing something you’re passionate about that I managed to do anything I’d consider remotely successful (yes, at 2.5 months, I consider this blog successful—I expected to give up long before now).

Recently I’ve been debating about book blog memes. Should I engage in them? Do I think I actually have the time? For the purposes of this discussion, I’m discounting blog award memes—that’s an entirely separate issue, as far as my opinionated brain is concerned.

Some of the ones I’ve seen recently, to name a few, include Wishlist Wednesday, hosted by Pen to Paper; 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge, hosted by Good Books, Good Wine; and Friday Favorites, hosted by Tressa’s Wishful Endings.

The first one that I seriously considered was Wishlist Wednesday. Honestly, I’m still considering it; I’m just lazy. After that, I started noticing a whole lot more that I could participate, and I started feeling overwhelmed. Obviously, I wouldn’t necessarily have to participate in them all, but what’s to stop me from doing more once I start one? I know myself—I get wrapped up in something and then all of a sudden I’ve missed the deadline on my homework (this post, for example, is part of this assignment’s regularly expected procrastination).

So I find myself debating about whether I should just not acknowledge these kinds of memes and ignore them entirely, for the sake of my insane schedule, or should I attempt to embrace only one or two? Does timing matter?

*sigh* Well, for whatever reason, I was hoping that writing this would help me come to a profound conclusion, but it definitely hasn’t. What are your thoughts, lovely readers?

Posted on July 18, 2013, in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love memes, haha, as you probably know! Some of them can be time consuming, but others only take a few minutes. For me, the most time consuming ones are Top Ten Tuesday, and Friday Finds.
    But there are quick ones, too, like WWW Wednesday, and Waiting On Wednesday.
    Memes are fun, but you shouldn’t feel pressured into participating just because everyone else is! :)

    • Haha, I love reading your meme posts – I find them terribly entertaining most times. I was just about to decide to start doing one or two, when this week happened >.< I don't think I have consistent enough time to go down that road :/ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

