Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5) by Richelle Mead

Dimitri gave Rose the ultimate choice. But she chose wrong…

After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s-and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he’s out there, somewhere.

She failed to kill him when she had the chance. And now her worst fears are about to come true. Dimitri has tasted her blood, and now he is hunting her. And this time he won’t rest until Rose joins him… forever.

 

Rating: 4/5

I’m never quite sure of how I feel about this series. One minute I hate it, the next minute I love it, and on average I’m generally apathetic. I don’t like Rose—I find her to be annoying, and if I met her in real life, I can honestly say that I would have no interest in spending time with her, and I’m fairly certain I’d have a similar reaction around her as the Moroi who turn up their noses with disgust over her antics. Then every now and then she’ll do something or say something that sounds truly awesome, and I’ll decide that maybe she’s ok. This has been the general pattern of each book. Until this one.

The sub-plot at the opening of this book I thought was crazy. I won’t go into details, but this time Rose’s idea of the next course of action was absolutely insane. Even more insane, I’m not sure that it should have worked. In fairness, Mead did a decent job of making the plan sound believable enough, but I just had a difficult time suspending disbelief that much.

Once we were through that sequence of events (around the halfway point of the novel), I started to be more ok with this book. It certainly didn’t annoy me as much as the last one.

The ending sealed the deal, and is the reason this one’s getting so many stars. Let’s just say that I love Abe, and I absolutely and thoroughly respect the scheme he’s been carefully laying throughout this book and the last. It kind of bugs me that Rose is too dense to see it, but I suppose in her situation I might not be thinking too clearly either. And did I mention that I love Abe?

One thing that did kind of bug me was some of the love triangle drama. Since Rose is on this mission to turn Dimitri back into a dhampir even while she’s dating Adrian, there is some obvious romantic tension. I liked how Adrian handled the whole situation, but Rose just bugged me, as usual. There was also a bit of a rebuff from Dimitri that sent Rose sulking, and her solution was to almost have sex with Adrian. I was so pissed off that that’s how such a situation was being handled that I almost stopped reading the book then and there. I mean, yeah, it’s the kind of thing Rose would do, but it was just so frustrating to be dealing with a main character who has that kind of reaction. It ended up working out better than I expected, which is why I didn’t drop the rating.

Overall, this book was mostly a “meh” for me, but I loved the ending (and Abe) so much that I went ahead and gave it 4 stars. And it had such an intense cliff hanger that I’m going to go start the next one right away instead of spacing things out like normal.

Posted on September 5, 2014, in Urban Fantasy/Paranormal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Liza, I have never tried Mead. *i know, I know* This sounds wonderful and your review has me itching to try the series.

    • *Gaspeth!*
      Well, if you want to start with Mead and you’re not particularly attached to YA and/or vampires, I highly recommend starting with Gameboard of the Gods or the Georgina Kincaid series. I’m ok with Vampire Academy, but those books are what made me love Mead instead of just be ok with her.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’m not sure about that series, I’m quite certain this would be a meh for me. So… I’ll watch the movie lol ! Thanks for sharing 😉

    • Most of the series was a meh for me. I just finished the last book last night, and I loved it so … If you have any interest at all it’s not a waste of time, but for me it was definitely an uphill battle. I haven’t watched the movie yet—time to go hunt down a copy of that to round off all things Vampire Academy…

  3. I really liked Rose in books one and two, but by book three, when she was stringing Adrian along, I really started to dislike her. There was a lot in this book that could have been edited out. I don’t know how anyone could be forgiving of the way she treats Adrian but people love what they love 🙂

    • I was very frustrated with how she treated Adrian. I just finished the last book and briefly touched on it in my post. At least there were enough other things in that book that I quite liked to make it redeeming (and I was personally thrilled when Adrian gave her quite the verbal lashing).

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a comment