Camp NaNoWriMo

I do this every time I write. Can’t seem to wrap my head around why. I have a tendency to write thousands and thousands of words all at once – I’ll lock myself to my computer and just crank out the story. It’s an amazing feeling, and I get truly wrapped up in the world I am creating. I become my characters and I live in the scary depths of my imagination for a few days on end.

Then I have to return to the real world and try to actually function among the physics and rules that I have no control over. I just stop writing on weekdays. It’s like I can’t have an actual job and continue to write at the same time. Why didn’t I have this problem in high school, but I have ever since? It isn’t as if the college classes were any more difficult than the high school ones (except maybe the occasional math class).

But two weekends in a row I churned out about 10k words without giving it much of a thought. And on the days in between I just … stopped. This weekend I’m having trouble getting my engines going.

It’s stress, I know. There’s just so much to do right now. I’m moving next weekend, so I’m trying to pack up (and more importantly, get rid of) my worldly possessions – a task which has been getting increasingly more difficult as the weather gets nicer and I start finding hornets hiding in the nooks and crannies of the junk that hasn’t been touched since I moved here to begin with.

I also have some rather intense projects at work. And since I’m moving next weekend, I’m planning some time off (or at least out of the office), which means I have to wrap everything up prior to Dad’s arrival to Seattle. Tack onto that my first final exam at grad school and a group project that has been a frustrating task in an online class, and I’m just not in the writing mood anymore.

I was hoping this post might help.

I still have my goal for the month of April set at 50,000 words. So far I’m at 23,646. Admittedly, even though we’re more than halfway through the month, I’m only just at my halfway point – I didn’t start until April 7th and am still setting my target at April 30th, so at the very least I’m about on track … If I can manage to get back to writing and average 2400 words per day for the rest of the month. It’s a heady task, but if I can get back on the ball this weekend, and if I can manage to keep it up while Dad’s here an I’m moving, it’s certainly something I can accomplish.

I’ve been using musicals to keep my emotions going. It’s somewhat messing with my head – between watching Doctor Who and the most depressing musicals I can find, tack on some PMS, I’ve been darn near having panic attacks. It’s as if I’ve been intentionally inducing mood swings beyond what would happen naturally to begin with. Solith is loving it, but of course, he would.

I’ve also been reminded why I didn’t tend to put Rent on while I was writing way back when. The parts I like are distracting. The parts I don’t just piss me off. And I’ve had the same song getting stuck in my head on and off for over a week now. I don’t even like that song …

Maybe I’ll try Wicked tonight, even though I just have the soundtrack. I just ordered Les Miserables (Was that not a spectacular film?!), but I also just watched it last weekend online. I’m not sure my mood swings can handle two rounds of that so close together…

Oh look, over 600 words just for this post. I guess I should go put my fingers to work on Kaleena instead.

But first, I need to get some work done. I have a suspicion I won’t be much up to it tomorrow when I get home – I’m going whale watching in the morning!

Wish me luck!

Posted on April 20, 2013, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know how it feels to get stuck with writing, after a long pause. Best of luck with your endeavors.

Leave a Reply

