Succubus on Top (Georgina Kincaid #2) by Richelle Mead

My Rating: 3/5

I just want to say that I love Seth Mortensen.

As a character, he is spectacular. Which is strange for me. I generally go for the bad boys and the quieter, softer, more human men just don’t do anything for me.

But I think that every time Seth opens his mouth in this series I feel something melt inside of me. I just want to hold him like a teddy bear. And his quirks resulting from being a writer are adorable, not to mention watching Georgina’s reactions to them.

Speaking of the main character – I love her voice. I must say that the plot in this books isn’t particularly special in my opinion (hence only 3 stars), but I absolutely love every single character.

Especially Seth.

He and Georgina have clear relationship problems, all of which stem from the fact that she is a succubus, meaning they can’t have sex within risking Seth’s life, and that Georgina must continue having sex with other men to maintain her health.

That’s honestly the main conflict in the book. I recall being drawn in and wrapped up in the first one, and that just didn’t happen with book 2 for me. I don’t know if it’s a matter of timing, plot, romantic intrigue, or what. My best guess is that what should really be a sub-plot in my opinion seems to be the primary conflict for most of the book. Then it is set aside briefly for the climax of the novel, only to be immediately resolved shortly thereafter.

Don’t get me wrong, it was still a great book. But I like a bit more meat to my stories. Great characters are enough to keep me interested for now, and I still very much look forward to continuing the series (I’ve heard good things about book 3), but for now I think I’ll read a couple of other books first.

Posted on April 21, 2013, in Urban Fantasy/Paranormal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

