Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson #7) by Patricia Briggs

My Rating: 4/5

The only reason this one didn’t get a 5/5 is because I reserve that rating for something truly special. Don’t get me wrong, Patricia Briggs is one of my favorite authors, but to me, frankly, that just sets the bar even higher.

This was a truly excellent book. The action was great, as usual. The characters felt very alive, but by now we already knew and expected that. Once again, I was reminded how much I love Adam.

I love the fact that we continue to learn more about Mercy’s talents as a Walker, and I particularly enjoy that she is being forced into situations where she has to explore more. This book is a great addition to all of the information we learned in its predecessor, River Marked. I can’t comment well on my favorite part of this without heading into the realm of spoilers, so you’ll just have to read it for yourself, but it’s nice to see how Mercy’s powers as a walker interact with her bond to the pack.

I think my only moderate complaint was the big break in tension about 2/3 of the way through the book. This is quite often my only complaint with Patricia Briggs, and for some readers it’s probably a good thing, but to me it throws off the pacing. I tend to feel like we’re supposed to be wrapping everything up because there are only a few loose strings left, and then we have a second climax. It’s like a lover letting you come down from your first orgasm and start to get up before throwing you back into the throes of passion (did I mention that this blog tends to have some fairly adult themes? I will probably use some slightly crass analogies a fair amount – I’m assuming a mature enough audience here). Don’t get me wrong, it’s nice to have a breather, but especially with my busy schedule, I tend to get distracted in the slow bits. Then, lo and behold, it takes me over a week to read one book. Anyway, that’s why I only give this book 4 stars.

As usual, I can’t wait to see what Patricia comes up with next!

Posted on April 23, 2013, in Urban Fantasy/Paranormal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

