Succubus Dreams (Georgina Kincaid #3) by Richelle Mead

Rating: 4/5

I loved this book. The plot was fresh and well-paced – I didn’t feel like I was caught up in a whirlwind, but I didn’t want to put it down either. We learned more about Georgina’s past, and her relationship with Seth was developed. I like that we get to see characters change in these books, even though sometimes I don’t like how it happens.

This book very nearly made me cry, though I can’t be certain there weren’t other compounding factors from my personal life – a lot of stress will do that to a girl, after all.

We also get to meet new characters, and gain more insight into the inner-workings of Hell. Not to mention some foundation for future plots – I think this is the first time that I’ve been left wanting more because of potential plot developments rather than just relationship drama in this series, and that’s one of the primary reasons this one is getting rated to highly – I don’t need a cliffhanger (and this doesn’t really have one), but I do like my loose ends. They give me something to ponder on while I wait to get around to the next one.

At the very beginning of this book, Georgina is told she has to mentor a newbie succubus – and the new girl, Tawny, is awful. We meet the imp who owns the contract binding Georgina as a succubus, and various people start putting pressure on her relationship with Seth, particularly the imps. Meanwhile, Geogrina has also started having unusual dreams and waking up with her energy depleted every time she feeds on someone the night before.

Through some of the plot development, there were little things that grated on my nerves, however, keeping this one from earning that elusive 5th star. Number one pet peeve in this book: Georgina can be really, really dense at times. I mean, I don’t want a character who always figures things out on the first go without having to do much pondering, but there were times I caught myself yelling at her for missing the obvious solution.

And did I mention that this book very nearly made me cry? As a writer, I’m all for putting my characters through hell and watching them figure out what to do next – that’s what makes for a good story, after all. I might have been a little gentler to Georgina in this case, but I’ll see what happens in the next book before I pass final judgement.

Posted on May 12, 2013, in Urban Fantasy/Paranormal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

