Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely #1) by Melissa Marr

Rating: 3/5

This book was ok, but I wouldn’t call it great. I was a little surprised by that as I was reading it—one of the reason this one was added to my list was because I’d heard great things about it, but I guess that just goes to show how we all have different things that we like and dislike. Or are neutral about.

And to be honest, I mostly felt neutral about this book. It was good; it was well-written and had an interesting and unique premise. I like the world that was created and the concepts of the courts that Marr explored as she wrote this. And I can tell that Marr knows her characters and loves them.

But it just didn’t do anything for me. I can’t say that it fell flat for me, not exactly. This was a good enough read to distract me from my math homework after all (and since all that I had left was my programming homework, that’s slightly more difficult than it sounds).

One of the things that I love about the fae is the sense of something foreign. The fae are a range of emotions, a range of concepts, and have a range of experiences that simply aren’t relate-able for us mere mortals, and I love that about them. As a writer, it gives you plenty of room to develop your own rules and concepts. As a reader, it truly embraces the “escape from reality” that most fantasy readers enjoy so much. Marr kind of had this—she had the nuances of the courts, of the playing with heat and cold, and even addressed the issue of modernity. However, I didn’t feel like I was learning about a different species, moreso than humans with some slightly different rules.

There was something about the way the courts were set up that didn’t sit well with me, either. A large part of it was simply me not understanding what the difference between the Winter Court and Dark Court is supposed to be, and likewise with the Summer and High Courts. It look like the second book in the series might explore more of the other courts, and maybe I’ll come around to it when I read more. Who knows? In addition to that, we know there is a game with rules being played between the Summer and Winter Courts, which I like in concept, but I don’t feel like we ever actually learned why such a game existed and had the rules that it did. It was hinted at, but mostly avoided. If it’s something we learn later, that’s a little more ok, but this book was really the place to at least begin to address it. I still feel left in the dark.

That, and, honestly, I didn’t feel all that invested in the characters. I liked most of them, and I felt pity for others, like Donia, but that was about it. I appropriately routed for Keenan while I was reading, and I felt some small attachment to Aislinn, but I honestly couldn’t tell you much about what they were feeling when. And I didn’t feel like this tough decision Aislinn had to make was a decision that I had to make. I think that would have added a layer to this that I was missing as a reader.

Posted on June 22, 2013, in Urban Fantasy/Paranormal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. reading7mandy

    This first book did much the same for me. I liked it, but I didn’t LIKE it. I continued reading the series though and most of the books in the series left me feeling the same way. BUT taking the series as a whole I really did LIKE it. As a whole it just makes sense. I also enjoyed that all the books in the series were not about the about the same couple of people though the other characters were still mentioned so you didn’t feel they were completely out of place in the series. SO even though you didn’t LIKE this book I’d continue to give the series a chance.

    • Thanks for the info! I’ll have to keep that in mind. I do plan to read the subsequent books; they just didn’t make the top of my list. Maybe something I’ll check out from a library instead of buying. Out of curiosity, have you read any of her other books? My book club read Carnival of Souls the first month I went, so I hadn’t read it, but I’ve been wondering how it compares to Wicked Lovely.

      • I did read Carnival of Souls. The writing is much like the Wicked Lovely series, though the characters are completely different. It reads more fantasy/adventure than paranormal romance. (Sorry, I work at Barnes and Noble so I tend to categorize the way they do.) I did find the characters to be a bit blah like in the WL series, but the plot drew me in unlike with the WL series there was a sense of suspense to Carnival of Souls. All in all a good read and I’ll read the next, but it’s not a priority. I also read her adult book Graveminder. It wasn’t very good. I have a post on my blog dedicated to them, that might give you a better insight since I wrote it just after reading them.

      • Thanks! And I’m fine with B&N categories—pretty familiar with them myself though I don’t work there 😉 And I found your post! Saw Name of the Wind while I was scrolling through—my dad has been trying to get me to read that for ages, and other books keep getting put in front of it. I think I need to make a point of actually getting to it at some point…

      • Pick up The Name of the Wind. So good. I’m VERY slowly reading The Wise Mans Fears (book 2) because book 3 has no release date as apparently Rothfuss had some sort of tantrum. I hate finishing a book and having to wait forever for the next book. I live for release dates, though sometimes I’m lucky enough to get an advance readers copy. I have a feeling Rothfuss is going to try and pull a George RR Martin and make fans wait 10+ years, though I hope not. Though he’s since indicated it might release in 2014. We shall see.

      • Haha – Now I’m almost afraid to read it! I shall bump it up to the top(ish) of my list. In fact, I’ll go pull it off of my shelf and set it on the bedside table right now so that I don’t change my mind, though it will probably be a few weeks before I get time to actually read (as opposed to listen to audiobooks, which I can do while I drive/clean). And then I’ll hope that he actually releases book 3 in 2014.

      • I can’t do audio books. I read faster than they talk and I just end up annoyed at the pacing. You’ll have to let me know what you think once you read it.

      • I can only stand them with certain books, and I’m incredibly picky about who the reader is. Some of the readers drive me insane because they talk so slow, but some aren’t so bad – still slower than I read, but tolerable. I used to be completely unable to stand them, but I spend so much time in the car that I started to cave. And once I realized that I actually got some level of housework done, I warmed up to them more. The pace is slower, but in my busy weeks, I get through books faster anyway. I will definitely ping you when I finish (not to mention will put a post up here).

  1. Pingback: Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Leave a Reply

