The Liebster Award

liebster-awardSo, when I started this whole blogging thing, I honestly expected to have no followers. That wasn’t necessarily because I thought my writing wasn’t worth it or whatever, and I wasn’t planning on shying away from, you know, the internet—the whole point of starting this blog was to challenge myself with writing regularly, even if it wasn’t for my stories. The point of this blog was to keep up the momentum of reading regularly, thinking critically about what I was reading, and relating it back to my writing. I wasn’t planning on marketing or networking or doing any of those blog-things that people do to get viewers and ratings and comments and all of those useful statistics.

And here we are just over 2 months later, and I have more followers than posts, and almost as many comments (admittedly, about half of my comments are me responding to actual comments, but hey, don’t judge).

So I’m truly honored to have been nominated for the Liebster Award. Thanks so much to the wonderful and talented Lindsey, The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm, for nominating me a few days ago. It means the world to me that you consider Classy Cat Books to be a worthwhile “up-and-coming blog with less than 200 followers.”

As with all of these blog award memes, there are rules by which I must abide. Specifically, they are:

  1. Thank the Liebster Blog presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog. (Thanks Lindsey!)
  2. Post 11 facts about yourself, answer the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.
  3. Nominate 11 blogs who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.
  4. Display the Liebster Award logo.
  5. No tag backs.

So, let’s get started …

11 Facts About Me:

  1. The obvious one: I have cats. Two of them, in fact. One is named Tux, and he is a trouble-maker. The other is Oli, and she is a total sweetheart who makes funny noises when she wants attention. Tux likes to hang out on my bookshelves (and he is classy about it), hence the name of my blog.
  2. I am a writer (obviously). I’ve been writing stories since, like, forever (really, since middle school—and thank god I’ve improved since then). I pretty much stick to fantasy, and I try to be as unique as possible in the world of books we live in today. My favorite characters to write are totally demons. And Botis is awesome.
  3. I am a Doctor Who fanatic. Bow ties are cool. So are fezzes. And in certain episodes, Stetsons. OMG November 23 can’t come too soon …
  4. I love Musicals and Disney movies. These are what I put on while I’m writing/reading. All the time. People get annoyed. But, come on, can you real get too much Disney? Or musicals? Really?
  5. I play oboe. And flute when I have to. And if I had one, I would totally English Horn too, but they’re expensive. Oboe is the best instrument ever, even if they’re bloody fickle.
  6. I love being punny. Yay for punny. And wordplay in general. I make bad puns at work and people think I’m crazy. They would be right. If you haven’t noticed yet, I’m a little not all there in the head.
  7. I’ve studied far too many languages to speak coherently half of the time. I studied German in high school, and a little in college. I lived in a dorm with a bunch of linguists, and as a consequence, learned little bits of way too many other languages.
  8. I travel a lot, or used to, anyway. Back when I could pretend I could afford it because student loans would accommodate. Most notably, I studied abroad in Denmark, where I learned enough Danish to forever screw up that German thing I mentioned in #7. I’ve also spent some amount of time in Australia, New Zealand, India, Korea, Panama, and other countries around Europe for one reason or another.
  9. I love cooking when I find the time. Experimenting with non-existent recipes is a lot of fun, even if sometimes I’m the only I think should be willing to eat that crap. For the most part, people seem to think I have some measure of skill (but they haven’t seen all the experiments).
  10. I often don’t have time because I do things like work a full-time job (by which I mean, I average about 40-60 hours per week, depending) and am getting a Masters Degree in Statistics (which takes way more time and work than it should) and play in local bands and orchestras (see #5) and, you know, keep a blog about reading books. Oh, and I write in there too …
  11. I am apparently going to Pop Culture Hell, which I was sentenced to by some friends back in high school, and I haven’t managed to prove them wrong yet. I haven’t seen several staple films/movies, apparently, and I have little desire to actually remedy the situation. I will continue to make terrible Doctor Who references in conversation and in my writing until I die, and if you don’t get my pop culture reference, you’re missing out. I fully acknowledge and accept that I’m missing out on some good jokes too.

The 11 questions posed by Lindsey:

  1. Are you a wheat bread or white bread person? This honestly depends on my mood. If I buy a regular loaf from a store, I normally buy wheat. But if I’m baking it myself or getting something freshly baked from a bakery, I go white. At sandwich shops I go either way.
  2. Name a book or movie character you would marry on the spot. This is a tough one. In a way, there are so many. And yet … most of the guys in the books/movies that I melt for aren’t exactly marriage material more than they are… shorter term? That in mind, I think I’m going to say Seth Mortensen, from Richelle Mead’s Georgina Kincaid series. He’s just so … lovable. I mean, he’s Seth, and I want to wrap him in my arms and cuddle up with him.
  3. What is your favorite part about yourself (does not have to be a physical part)? I like that I am a fairly well-balanced person. I like math, I like writing. I like history (sometimes; more-so now that I can choose what I learn about and how), I like music (both playing and listening). I like community service and I like chilling out at home with a good book. I like hiking and ice skating and exploring new things. I’m glad that I have a lot of interests and many, many ways to fulfill those interests. This makes me a happy person, and I enjoy being happy.
  4. What made you decide to start a blog? Mostly, I wanted the excuse to actually pay attention to what I was doing, specifically, what I was reading. By blogging regularly, I’ve been reading more, I remember what I read more, and I’ve been able to notice what bothers me in other people’s writing that I want to watch out for in my own. That’s why I started this blog, and it’s been fairly successful.
  5. Name the first song that comes to mind. Happy Birthday to You – It was my birthday last week. My family came out to visit, and they got me this card with kittens on it that put cat-meows to the Happy Birthday song. It’s been driving my cats crazy, and as I’ve been drafting this post, my parents were playing a noise-making game to see who could get the best reaction out of my cats. The card won.
  6. What is something you wish for but know it is an impossibility? I would love to be able to travel whenever/wherever. However, I don’t have money. This makes that whole travel thing rather difficult.
  7. What is your favorite season? FALL! *singing* I absolutely love Autumn (yes Autumn, if you ever find this blog, I mean both you and the season). The air smells crisp and clean and all of my favorite candle smells are popular and the leaves are pretty. What could you possibly want more out of season?
  8. What is the first book that comes to mind? Richelle Mead’s Succubus Shadows, book #5. This is partially because I just mentioned Seth up above, and partially because I just started it this afternoon.
  9. Who is someone you depend on? Uuuh … I depend on … My dad? Yes, I say this knowing I am a full-grown twenty-something living 2300 miles away from home. But I still call my parents when I’m not feeling well (and, frankly, when I’m bored). And I still sometimes get my dad to help me with my math homework (though it’s not really with the math-part anymore—that was water under the bridge half a decade ago). And also, parents are cool. Mine are great 🙂
  10. What quote inspires you? Hmmm … I’m not really much of a quote person. Don’t get me wrong, I like reading and nodding at or chuckling at a good quote now and then, but I’m not the kind of person to post them near me and live by them. So let’s see … This is a particular favorite, and it kind of embodies how I tend to approach life: “Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” — Buddha [Quote may be paraphased due to language and time inaccuracies]
  11. If you could change your name, what would it be? Hmm … I like my name? There are a few names that I love: Michelle, Jennifer, Sarah … For my characters there are others, of course, but for me I would go with one of those.

My 11 questions to others:

  1. What is your favorite book genre?
  2. What is your favorite cereal?
  3. Why did you choose the topic you did for your blog?
  4. What was(/is) your favorite subject in high school?
  5. What is your favorite TV Show?
  6. What is your favorite word and why?
  7. What type of animal do you most identify with?
  8. Choose an adjective/adverb that starts with the same letter as your first name and also describes you.
  9. What’s your favorite Disney movie and/or song from a Disney movie?
  10. What type of music do you listen to?
  11. How many words can you make from the letters in ‘Classy Cat’? (sorry, this is harder than I expected!)

My 11 Nominees (in no particular order):

And once again, thanks so much to the Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Read Headed Bookworm for the nomination!

Posted on July 13, 2013, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! I read your blog regularly even though the books you discuss aren’t ones I would normally read, just because it’s interesting to see someone thinking critically and intelligently about what they read. You’ve totally earned this.

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award ^.^ | books for a delicate eternity

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award | reading&living

Leave a Reply

