Blog Spam

Every once in a while I decide to read what kinds of spam comments are being filtered out, and some of them make me laugh. For the most part, they’re completely nonsensical and random and clearly not related to the content of the blog, like this one:

Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession
capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

I mean, was that supposed to even have a meaning? These must be practically randomly generated words, but if you’re going to go through the trouble to make an automated spam program, can’t you at least fix your word selection criteria to make halfway recognizable sentences? I particularly like the second “sentence.”

But every now and then it looks like somebody might actually be searching for specific content or choosing the content of their spam post based on keywords on the page. This one made me laugh the other day:

) Cats have a distinct preference for running water. My eldest cat
is on a vet prescription diet (brand withheld, this example is dry food).
It is possible to teach your cat how to walk on a leash, and then he will be roaming outside
safely.

So yes, my blog looks like it might be about cats. I thank this spam-generator for the random facts about the creatures I adore … And I’m very well aware that cats prefer running water—Tux races me into the bathroom so he can talk me into turning on the sink. But I question how putting him on a leash would let him “roam” outside safely… Frankly, that’s not really roaming anymore, if you’re restricted to your person. And what on earth is with the leading ‘)’ at the beginning?

Short post, I know, but I just had to share these two. Do you have any interesting spam worth sharing with the world?

Posted on July 29, 2013, in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I delete all my spam, but I have received some seriously wacky ones!
    This one ‘person’ said that they disagreed with what I had said in my post, because their cousin had been thought the same thing. Uhm, I write about books, so how is that comment even relevant!
    I wish there was a better system to prevent these kind of comments.

    • Oh that’s a strange one! I think wordpress does a good job of filtering through them, which is a relief. I’m just surprised that they get here at all sometimes! I’d expect that if someone were going to take the time to do something like that, they’d at least be something other than nonsense …

      • I know, right! it does do a good job, but I would prefer it if they were just instantly deleted. I mean, they’re obviously spam messages, haha πŸ˜›
        I know! I don’t really get it, at all.

      • Well at least they don’t actually show up on the blog and instead go into a spam folder? Maybe it’s a good thing they don’t get auto-deleted—what if something that’s not spam slips through the cracks? Not that I actually look frequently enough to catch any of those and make them not spam (if they happen at all) …

      • Yes, it would be horrible if they showed up on the blog D:
        A few legitimate comments have made it to my spam folder, so I guess it is a good thing they don’t all get insta-deleted. Maybe if they use dodgy emails they could be deleted? I’m not sure, I don’t even know if they could do that!

  2. I had to read the first spam comment twice, and it was still weird! The oddest spam comments I’ve ever gotten was one trying to sell iguanas and another saying something about toenail clippings (but it wasn’t a prank, it was from a spambot)! πŸ™‚ Fun post!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    • I’ve seen the one about iguanas! And I think I’m glad I didn’t see the one about toenail clippings … Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

