The Liebster Award (again)

This weekend I was nominated for a Liebster Award by two wonderful bloggers: Lindsey, The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm; and Lauren at Revolution for Breakfast. Thanks you guys! ๐Ÿ™‚

For those of you not familiar with this award, it is a way for fellow bloggers to recognize up-and-coming blogs, so I’m honored to have been nominated. I kind of feel like these things have a cycle to them (as evidenced by the fact that I’ve been on Lindsey’s list of nominees before), but I’m certainly not going to complain!

There are rules, of course:

  1. Link back to the blogger that tagged you.
  2. Nominate ten others and answer the questions of the one who tagged you.
  3. Ask ten questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  4. Let your nominees know of their award.

To make this a little easier on myself, I’m going to do one post and answer Lindsey’s and Lauren’s questions together. And I’m actually not going to nominate anyone this time (sorry!) partially because I haven’t had the time to be following many blogs lately anyway …

Questions from Lindsey:

1. What is something you are determined to do before you die?

Oh geez, way to start out with a tough one, Lindsey ๐Ÿ˜› Uuhm … Uuh … Well … (Clearly I don’t have a detailed bucket list) … I want to travel, that’s for darn sure. I’d say I want to go to every commonly inhabited continent, but I’m already so close to achieving that that I’m not sure it’s a lofty enough goal anymore. But we’ll go with that anyway >.<

2. What is a memory that makes you smile?

High school band. Almost everything about it, but in particular the awesomeness of the oboe solo-playing senior year (yes, including the song where I had to bark like a dog) and all of the wonderful memories that were made in the music library (especially those ones where we were all there way too late after school or over the summer prepping for band camp).

3. Where do you prefer to read?

Usually I read in my bed, but lately I’ve been taking to reading out on my apartment’s balcony (the weather’s been amazing) or the couch in my living room. I’m still getting used to living by myself, so I’m only just starting to break away from secluding myself in my room for the privacy.

4. Do you have a hero or heroine? Why are they so?

Uuuh … Man, Lindsey, you’re asking tough ones this time. Does this have to be a real person? If so, I honestly have no idea—I have lots of role models, but I wouldn’t necessarily consider anyone to be a hero/heroine. If we’re talking in fiction, however (and you’ll all be shocked by this) I’m going to have to say River Song because, well, she’s River Song. She’s not afraid to speak her mind, she smart and witty, and she has such an awesome personality. And, I mean, she can manage a relationship with The Doctor.ย 

5. Are you a dog person or a cat person?

Yay! An easy one! (Also not one likely to give anyone more insight about me) … Obviously, I’m a cat person. I like dogs well enough, but I’m a cat lover through and through. There are jokes about it at work. One of my colleagues has actually successfully convinced a few people that I have over 40 cats—I don’t know why anyone would believe that. Even if I were willing to have that many cats, I certainly couldn’t afford it >.<

6. How do you fight writer’s block?

Honestly, this depends on the type of block (yes, I think there are different kinds, though I honestly couldn’t tell you how I decide what kind it is or what the difference is). Sometimes I just need to work on writing something else, and switching projects does the trick. Sometimes I have a small glass of wine and am ready to go again. Sometimes I just need to get through writing a crap scene to something more fun, and I literally just get out some words until it works again. Sometimes I have one of my friend’s read part of what I have and ask them to tell me it’s good. Usually, though, if I’m being entirely honest, I just take a break. Sometimes this means I edit instead of writing, but usually it means I just go do other stuff until the right mood strikes me again.

7. What is your favorite thing about blogging?

Hmmm, I think I just have to say the incentive, shortly followed up by the community. Writing my blog really is getting me reading more, and I’m paying more attention to what I’m reading, which is awesome. What surprised me is how much of a community there is out here, and that’s been wonderful to explore.ย 

8. Do you have any recommendations for other bloggers?

Be confident and keep posting. I’ve seen a lot of blogs that I think have a lot of potential but the blogger seems uncomfortable. Just be yourself and be honest to yourself, and don’t worry about what the internet thinks of you. If someone thinks you’re not a good enough writer, they just won’t read your blog, but no one is going to judge you. Think of it as a good development opportunity ๐Ÿ™‚

9. Do you like it when it’s a sunny day or a cloudy day?

Okay, so this one is weird for me. I certainly like sunny days normally, but they also often give me a headache. When there have been a lot of sunny days, I get super excited about a cloudy day, and vice versa. But I guess Seattle is a great place for me to have moved, because I really have nothing against cloudy days.

10. Are you a fast reader or slow reader?

I tend to think that I’m a slow reader, and I don’t know if that’s because I compare myself against insanely fast readers or not. I read books quickly, but I read the individual pages slowly—I don’t know if that makes any sense whatsoever …

And now the questions from Lauren:

1. Imagine you’re in Willy Wonka’s factory. Which candies do you gravitate toward?

Awesome question! Those gigantic lollipops that are all swirly and colorful, definitely. I don’t know if I’d prefer the colorful/fruity one or a peppermint one … Probably both.

2. You’re at a really awesome) travel agency which allows you to spend your entire summer in one of the following fictional countries—which do you choose and why?: Wonderland (Alice in Wonderland) or Neverland (Peter Pan)?

Seriously great questions … I’m going to have to go with Neverland on this one, mostly because I like that world more. It has just slightly more sense to it than Wonderland, and I’d way rather run around with the Lost Boys and give Hook grief than have to deal with the Queen of Hearts.

3. Do you play any instruments?

I play oboe (like seriously, I was just at music camp playing oboe for a week, so I really mean it!) and flute. If I had an English horn I would play that too, but I haven’t really had the chance since I was able to use the one at my high school …

4. List 5 words you really love and 1 word you absolutely hate (for whatever reason).

Love: supercilious (because usually if someone is using that word, they really are supercilious), infernal (I went through a phase of using this as my own version of “bloody”),ย delineate, epitome, saccharine (I mean, doesn’t it just look cool?)

Hate: definitely (I know I use it a lot, but it’s one of those words that doesn’t really add much meaning, and half of the time people type defiantly instead …)

5. Aliens—do they exist and have they been to Earth already?

I’m kind of neutral on this topic, to be honest. I don’t necessarily buy into any of those theories about aliens built the pyramids or whatever (because are we really not willing to give our own species credit for doing something amazing?), but I think it’s incredibly narrow-minded of us to believe that Earth is the only planet with life.ย 

6. Describe your favorite breakfast.

I actually really don’t like breakfast … I normally don’t feel like eating in the morning, and I’m also not a huge fan of breakfast foods. My all-time favorite thing to eat for “breakfast” (which on weekends normally occurs around 10:30-noon) is leftover spaghetti …

7. Do you read comic books or graphic novels? If so, which ones?

Not really, to be honest. I read Guilty Pleasures, by Laurell K. Hamilton when it first came out as a graphic novel, but I’ve never really gotten into them.

8. Winter, summer, spring, or fall?

When I was living in the midwest, I’d have said fall without question. Out here in Seattle, we kind of skip over what I would really call fall, and I’d have to say that I prefer winter (partially because I really miss the snow back east …)

9. Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character? If so, which one(s)?

Absolutely. Do the ones in my head count, even though no one else has heard of them? Cause then the list is really long … Otherwise, Augustus from The Fault in Our Stars was pretty much my dream-boyfriend. And Trent Kalamack, from Kim Harrison’s Hollows series. And, and, and …

10. You’re a Gamemaker in the Hunger Games and you have to create an arena ……….. Lol, jk. What’s something you would like your readers to know about you?

Solid ice, nowhere to hide/get shelter, and there are thin patches… tee hee … Uuuh, I’m about to start posting the book that’s been my pet project for something like 10 years on my other (shared) blog over at The Briar Patch.ย 

Thanks again you guys! (And sorry I just don’t have the energy to list out and link my own nominees as well right now…)

Posted on August 18, 2013, in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great answers to both Lindsey’s and my questions! I really enjoyed reading them – and you’re posting your book on your other blog?! I will *definitely* (couldn’t resist) check this out! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for the link back!

    • Aww, thanks! The Briar Patch is a little scattered right now, to be honest, because the summer has been crazy for both R. A. Stark and myself, but hopefully we’ll fall back into a rhythm soon … ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Sorry to make it hard this time it gets difficult thinking of questions! Loved all your answers though! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hehe, yeah, I know they get tough—I had a hard time the first go round, let alone having to do it multiple times!

Leave a Reply

