The A-Z Bookish Survey

So I don’t normally do memes, but I actually quite liked the idea of this one (especially since I can do it once and be done with it). I found it over at Disquietus, and she found it at The Perpetual Page-Turner. It’s rather cute and gets a lot of info about me and my books out in one post 🙂

Sooo … Let’s get started …

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Hmm, probably Patricia Briggs, simply because she has so many and I’ve hunted down them all. I’m not sure if I feel like I’ve read so many by her simply because she has so many different series, or I’ve really read that many. (Also, I don’t really count Laurell K. Hamilton because I stopped enjoying her books after Obsidian Butterfly).

Best Sequel Ever:

Gosh, this is a tough one. Uuhm, Probably Trickster’s Queen by Tamora Pierce or Wayfinder by C. E. Murphy. So hard to narrow it down though—obviously I read a lot of series, so there are some spectacular sequels out there!

Currently Reading:

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare and Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia (yes, I know I’m behind the curve on both of those …)

Drink of choice while reading:

Honestly, no preference. I guess probably lemonade, but that has very little to do with the reading part >.<

E-reader or physical book:

Currently physical book, but I’ve been known to go through phases.

Fictional character you probably would have actually dated in high school:

Augustus Waters, from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (seriously, I dated someone surprisingly similar to him—there’s no doubt in my mind), definitely. Also very likely someone like Seth Mortensen from the Georgina Kincaid series by Richelle Mead. Ethan Sullivan from The Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neill, if I could have landed him, which I’m certain I could not have. And if I’d seen through the pompous exterior soon enough (which would have certainly taken some doing) Shintaro Karish from Moira Moore’s Heroes series. Really, the list is endless …

Glad you gave this book a chance:

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I enjoyed this one way more than I expected to.

Hidden gem book:

Resenting the Hero, by Moira Moore. Seriously, this was an amazing find way back when I first saw it. It definitely does not get enough credit.

Important moment in your reading life:

Discovering Tamora Pierce. Aside from Harry Potter, her books were the only ones I would ever read for fun. Thus began my (endless) foray into fantasy …

Just finished:

Biting Bad by Chloe Neill. (And right before was Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo)

Kinds of books you won’t read:

Self-help books. They piss me off. Even the good ones that supposedly help you improve your life … I find their existence terribly frustrating.

Longest book you’ve ever read:

Oh man I have no idea. The longest one I’ve read recently to remember is The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I know I’ve had a few 1000+ page books floating around over time, but I’d be hard pressed to tell you what they were anymore … Oh! Don Quixote by Cervantes (982 pgs) … I read it for a lit class a year or so ago, and I actually read (most of) it—to be fair I read more of it after we were done with the class …

Major book hangover because of:

Those of you who have kept pace with this blog lately already know the answer to this one. Absolutely without doubt The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Close up is, surprisingly, Shadow and Bone, by Leigh Bardugo (I didn’t think I’d liked it enough to get a book hangover, but the world really stuck with me)

Number of bookcases you own:

I currently have 5 assembled and stuffed full. I own one more, and I will put it together as soon as I find the wall-space in my apartment …

One book you have read multiple times:

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison. I love that series!

Preferred place to read:

My bed. Or my couch. Or my apartment’s balcony (depending on the weather)

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

So I’m not much for quotes … Most of my favorites are usually completely meaningless out of context. My favorite quote that inspires me is probably one I’ve mentioned a few times from The Name of the Wind: “I was just wondering why you’re here.” It’s a quote that changes meaning each time it is used throughout the book, and as a writer there is nothing I love more than that. As a reader, those meanings also make me think about where I’m at in my own life—to be terribly philosophical, why are we here? What do I want to do with my life? Am I currently where I want to be? The books I read so rarely spill over into my real life (unless you count the characters in my head as real) that it seems strange to have a single line draw so much thought out of me…

Reading regret:

1) I watched the first Harry Potter movie before I read the book and it has forever biased my imagination with the series; 2) I watched Eragon when it released as a movie; 3) I obsessed over Laurell K. Hamilton for far too long back in high school … I don’t think there’s a book I can say that I regret reading …

Series you started and need to finish (all books are out in series):

Oh god … Uuhhhm, I guess one is the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead—I read the first one and haven’t read any of the rest. I’d also say the rest of the Kitty Norville books by Carrie Vaughn—they’re not all out, but I’m so far behind I may as well be. Same deal with the Black Dagger Brotherhood by J. R. Ward. Oh, and I never finished the Weather Warden series by Rachel Caine. I’d also like to catch up on the Women from the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong.

Three of your all-time favorite books:

Hmm .. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss; The Fault in Our Stars by John Green; one of the Kim Harrison (I can’t say which book in the series was my favorite, but I know there was a favorite among them somewhere)

Unapologetic fangirl for:

Kim Harrison, Patricia Briggs, Jenna Black’s Devil series, Tamora Pierce, Patrick Rothfuss, Hank and John Green (not strictly book-related), Doctor Who (not at all book related but very important to know)

Very excited for this release more than all the others:

I need to preface this by saying that I generally don’t pay attention to release dates, at all. The next book in the Hollow’s series, by Kim Harrison is as close as anything gets to being on my countdown list. Same with the last book in Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series.

Worst bookish habit:

I try to avoid these, as a general rule. Mostly, probably forgoing food to keep from interrupting my reading. Or sitting in a terrible position for hours on end that will eventually result in me having terrible back pain the next day,

Your latest book purchase:

On my last B&N run, I got Biting Bad by Chloe Neill, Divergent by Veronica Roth, and The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima. (I also nerd-flirted with the cashier, who I’m pretty certain was gay, about Doctor Who (there was a TARDIS cookie jar at his station) and the fact that he had enjoyed reading Divergent and The Demon King but that he hadn’t heard of Biting Bad. When I told him it was book 8 in the series, he decided that I had good enough tastes in books that he didn’t have time to forgo the amount of sleep it would take to catch up on that series. This story was terribly pertinent to the question.)

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss definitely prevented me from getting nearly enough sleep, but it was well worth it. Is it bad that I’m timing reading the second book for a week when losing some sleep won’t be as painful as last time?

Posted on August 20, 2013, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love this survey – it’s fun without asking too many hard questions (i.e. A book you once loved but don’t anymore – this question still annoys me! >:| ) and I love the asides about Doctor Who 😀 Not to mention I think you’re the only person I’ve conversed with on here who also reads/has read Rachel Caine and Laurell K Hamilton! Nice post! 😀

    • Doctor Who is amazing (and Steven Moffat is a soulless genius) 🙂 And the simple questions in this is why I also liked this survey—easy and short and sweet!

      And really? I’ve noticed a few comments here and there about one or the other on other blogs, but I guess they have been pretty few and far between. Maybe people just don’t like to admit to LKH anymore >.<

  2. Hiya Liza – after seeing your post here I decided to post my own A to Z Survey
    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on City of Bones, and after seeing you comment on The Fault in our Stars a few times I’m excited to pick up a copy!

    S

    • Thanks! You will absolutely love The Fault in Our Stars—it really was a truly wonderful read 🙂 I just put in an order for another 3 of John Green’s books and I can’t wait to dig into them too!

      • ooo! You’ll have to let me know what you think of the other John Green books! I’ll definitely be posting a review about The Fault in Our Stars.. hopefully the review I end up writing is as good as –
        this one.

        S

      • I will definitely let you know when I’ve read another one. And thanks for that link—what an amazing review!

  1. Pingback: A to Z Bookish Survey | My Other Book Club

Leave a Reply

