Reflections on August

I swore I wasn’t going to start doing posts like these, but I think it’s appropriate enough to do a review of the month.  A lot has happened, after all! (I mean, holy crap I read nine books!)

In real life …

Which, unfortunately, does exist pretty often, I went to music camp and learned a whole lot. I’ve become the newest member of a local orchestra, and I started taking oboe lessons again. I finished my second semester of grad school (which involved a both the worst final exam score I think I’ve ever gotten, and what is possible also the best final exam score). I kinda started my actual new job (we had a re-org back in March—yes, it has taken me this long to actually stop doing what I was working on before), and I got to use what I learned in one of my classes at work already, which was super exciting. I got a Kindle Fire HD to replace my ancient kindle that had stopped working about a year ago.

I feel like there should be more to share, but honestly, almost everything else remotely interesting happened here so …

New Features:

I did a bit of housekeeping on Classy Cat Books’ format.

I added back in the archives widget right over there –>

I changed the tagline from “Words, Books, and More,” which was just a little bit cheesy, to “Words: They Mean Things” because, well, they do. It’s a phrase my friend and I use periodically when we fail at talking or get frustrated by misuse of words, and I thought it was appropriate here since I’m looking at how books are written.

Most importantly, I cleaned up my Book Reviews page(s). The two subpages are sorted by Author and Rating and I think are a lot cleaner than they were. On the parent Book Reviews page, I’ve included an indication of how my rating system works. I’ve also added a Review Policy, so if you’re an author and you’d like me to review your book, just fill out the form there ^^.

Books I reviewed:

Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1) by Richelle Mead

Succubus Revealed (Georgina Kincaid #6) by Richelle Mead

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo

Biting Bad (Chicagoland Vampires #8) by Chloe Neill

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1) by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Affliction (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #22) by Laurell K. Hamilton

The Hero Series by Moira Moore

Twice Tempted (Night Prince #2) by Jeaniene Frost

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

Other posts I made:

I commented on 99 Reasons to hate cats (which was a cute little cartoon book that took about a minute to flip through) and mentioned that I was going to music camp.

I posted about the revelation of Peter Capaldi as the 12th Doctor on Doctor Who — I still hold that I think he’ll do interesting things for the show.

I went through a bout of procrastination and discovered a cartoon about book hangovers and felt the need to share.

I was nominated for The Liebster Award twice: by Lindsey and by Lauren.

I completed the A-Z Bookish Survey, which was a real pleasure to complete. I highly suggest that if you haven’t done so already, you take a crack at it yourself.

I made what was more or less a status post about “Words: They Mean Things” and I updated my tagline accordingly.

I’ve got about 3 more posts on random topics drafted, and I was expecting them to go up this month too, but I ended up having so much else to share here in this last week or so that they’re going to have to wait until September (I don’t want to have 2 posts per day when I know I’ll end up missing days later).

Posted on August 31, 2013, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You’re not the only one to stack up on random drafts.. I have about 6 that I edit slowly, and then add something, then delete other stuff – It’s never ending!!

    I enjoyed reading more about you! 🙂

    S

    • Hehe, I figure stacking up on drafts has to be pretty normal. All but one of these posts are completely ready to go; I just keep pushing them out because I’m prioritizing actual book reviews over musings … One of them has been around in draft form for almost as long as this blog has been around, though, and I’m beginning to wonder if it will ever be ready >.< And thanks! 🙂

      • You sound like me with books… I buy a book, then just before I get around to reading it someone recommends The Fault in Our Stars… -_-

        Haha I just spent an hour organizing my bookshelves so that my “boring” books were at the bottom and my pretty ‘to-reads’ and ‘favourites’ are at the top 🙂

      • Hahahaha, yeah, this is how I end up with books like City of Bones sitting around on my shelf for years on end not getting read. Well, that and college.

        I have actually segregated my books—they are separate and not equal at the moment. Any that I have read or decreed “boring” and I have little interest in reading sit out in my desk area/makeshift office (they serve as minimal distraction from math homework), and anything that’s on my “to read” list is on a bookshelf in my bedroom. Unfortunately, that one has overflowed rather drastically and “to read” books are everywhere in my bedroom. In theory, I have those sorted by preference so, in theory, I will read them top to bottom and left to right, but we all know how theory works when it comes to picking books to read 😛

Leave a Reply

