Spy Glass (Glass #3) by Maria V. Snyder

An undercover mission
leads to danger, adventure
and an impossible choice.

After siphoning her own blood magic in the showdown at Hubal, student glass magician Opal Cowan lost her powers. Immune to the effects of magic, Opal is now an outsider looking in, spying through the glass on those with the powers she once had. Powers that make a difference in the world.

Suddenly the beautiful pieces she makes begin to flash in the presence of magic and Opal learns that someone has stolen some of her blood. Finding it might let her regain her powers or discover that they’re lost forever…

 

Rating: 3.5/5

I have mixed feelings about this book. In general, I’ve been a pretty consistent fan of Snyder’s books, specifically with the world of Yelena and Opal. This book, however, is probably my least favorite of all of the Sitia/Ixia books that I’ve read thus far.

The big thing working against it was its pacing. It took far too long for me to actually really understand what was going on—Opal tends to be a bit cryptic in her narration, to the point of feeling forced. Once the plot was well-established, it took a small eternity to develop. I realize that time passes with normal activity in the real world, but we don’t need to have it all narrated for us. I also felt like there were two halves to this story, with just a little bit of glue holding them together. Yes, these mini-stories were all motivated by the same general thing, but … The book just had too many gaps for me. The plot worked, but it didn’t draw me in.

I also wasn’t a huge fan of the emotional drama of the book. I try not to critique the author’s choice for who her characters fall in love with and all that, but I at least want that connection to feel believable.

The book in general felt forced to me, and I honestly had to finish myself to finish it. It was certainly nice to have the full host of characters involved, but the writing simply felt scattered.

Posted on August 26, 2014, in High Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

