The Wild Hunt (Faerie Sworn #1) by Ron C. Nieto

Magic still lingers in the mist-covered corners of the world, wherever the Old Ways are remembered. However, as civilization and reason scoff at the Fair Folk, the paths to power have been forgotten by all but a few.

Lily Boyd was meant to become a faerie doctor, a warden of humans and a keeper of balance, until disbelief and pragmatism led her away from the hidden world and into a mundane life. But truth has a way to be Heard and she will be forced to face it if she wants to save her family.

Armed with nothing but her childhood memories and protected by a debt of gratitude she doesn’t understand, Lily must decide who to trust while she navigates a world that is darker and more twisted than she is prepared for.

And should she make the wrong choice, should she mistake friend and foe… the eternal balance between the Faerie Courts may shatter, and then there will be more than Lily’s life on the line.

 

I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

This was a great read— Nieto did an excellent job of making the world of the fae seem alive while still foreign. And Lily never wavered as a good example of a main character.

Beginning as skeptical as any late teen would of her crazy old grandma, Lily’s path to believing the fae is incredibly believable. In her situation, I think I would have been just as skeptical for about the same amount of time. And when forced to face the reality of the creatures she encounters, her shock feels real even while she finds ways to cope with it. I like that she found a way to work with the resources at her disposal. She blunders through some serious mistakes early on the novel, as one might expect of someone with no exposure to such a foreign culture. As she learns the do’s and don’t’s, she makes less mistakes, but she isn’t perfect. I liked that her natural speaking patterns didn’t change as she learned, other than the occasional catch before saying thank you or sorry. Overall, I was impressed with the character development.

The supporting cast of characters was a bit hit or miss, but with good reason. I loved MacKenna, Lily’s grandma, and she was very well written and well rounded. Troy was difficult to read, but he’s supposed to be—after all, we’re following Lily through this, and she clearly finds him difficult to understand/read. Same with the other fae.

This book was pretty fast-paced and crescendos to one hell of a cliff hanger. We’re definitely left with more questions than answers by the end, and I’m anxious to read more. At this point I’m as confused as Lily regarding which character is playing which role for which side. Yikes!

 

Posted on September 4, 2014, in Fantasy, Urban Fantasy/Paranormal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. The book sounds good. What always gets me, though, is how this is a woman’s story – Lily, her grandmother. But the cover is a painting of a GUY…. sheesh. With his shirt off, of course. And apparently, there wasn’t enough guy presence to even rate a mention in your review….. I don’t know whether to roll my eyes or stomp my foot in frustration! Looking at the cover? I wouldn’t have bought the book. Reading your review? I probably will . . .

    • Oh, there was definitely enough guy presence, but not necessarily in the romantic way. The cover actually makes a decent amount of sense once you read it 😉 The Troy that I mentioned briefly has a very major role start to finish, but by the end you’re not really sure what that role really is. It’s a fairly quick read and I do recommend it given the time 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      • It’s nice to meet you, Liza! I was reading a post by someone else, then followed that post to you. That happens a lot in Leiah’s world! LOL. Following you now, and hope you enjoy my posts as well!

        Cheers!

      • I find so many good blogs that way! I’ve been enjoying your posts as well 🙂 See you around!

  2. Sounds like a fun start to an interesting series. I’ll have to give this one a read. I’m a big fan of heroes with flaw’s. Great review Matt @ JC’s Book Haven.

  3. This sounds well done, and I do love the Fae. I am glad it felt realistic.

    • The fae are one of my favorite creatures of the supernatural genres 🙂 Unfortunately, it’s rare to find a good portrayal of their foreign-ness. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Character development is usually welcome in my reads though in my interior I do like them to be great and perfect from start to finish LOL. About the cover, I really like it though it’s like it implies something. Nice. Great review, Liza 😀

    • Thanks Lola! It is always nice to have wonderful characters from the get-go, but I also enjoy getting to grow with them and learn more about them as they learn about themselves. Plus, as a writer, it can be fun to watch them struggle 😉 *evil laughter ensues*

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I’m not a big fan of faes, but what you said about the story and the character progression definitely caught my attention, so I’m adding it to my list, thanks for sharing !

    • Nieto is a bit more traditional in him representation of fae than most of the incredibly popular urban fantasy fae books. Since everyone tries to add their own spin on them, fae stories can be hit or miss. But Nieto’s world is straight out of some of the British fairy tales, by which I mean the fae messing around with the humans for fun and causing all sorts of mystical problems. I do hope you enjoy it!
      Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

