Top Ten Tuesday: September 16

I’ve decided to give the Top Ten Tuesday meme a try. This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, with a different “top ten list” every week.  This week’s theme is “Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More.” This ought to be interesting —I have a tendency to fall in love with an author but not get another book of theirs until after I’ve filled up my upcoming TBR, then forgetting about them again … So, in (almost) no particular order:


  • Patrick Rothfuss
    • I absolutely loved The Name of the Wind, but haven’t gotten more than ~1/3 of the way through The Wise Man’s Fear. It’s just so long and … well, time!
  • John Green
    • The Fault in Our Stars was great, and I even own Paper Towns, Looking for Alaska and Will Grayson, Will Grayson … I just haven’t read them yet.
  • Jaye Wells
    • I really enjoyed The Red Headed Step-Child, but haven’t continued the series. Maybe I should queue that one up on Audible …
  • Melissa Marr
    • I was so-so with Wicked Lovely, so I never continued the series even though I had every intend to. She’s on my bucket list because I’ve heard excellent things about the series as a whole.
  • Julie Kagawa
    • Same as Melissa Marr. I enjoyed The Iron King and bought The Iron Daughter, just need to actually commit to reading it.
  • Alex Archer
    • The Rogue Angel series initially really pulled me in, but I had trouble getting started on the second book in the series. I attribute it mostly to bad timing.
  • Holly Black
    • I loved Tithe. Unfortunately, it was pretty much her only book at the time that I finished it, and I didn’t keep up with her publications afterwards. I’m really interested in taking a look at The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, though. I may get back into her in the near future.
  • Gail Carriger
    • I read Etiquette and Espionage for my book club a little over a year ago, and I loved it. And then never bothered to try her other series, and never picked up the second book in the series when it came out. This is one I really need to get around to as well.
  • Julie Kenner
    • Man, I read this one forever ago … I remember thoroughly enjoying Carpe Demon, but I never did manage to read any of Kenner’s other books. With a series title like “Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom,” one would think I’d have continued …
  • Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman (Good Omens)
    • This one is something I really regret being on my list. I combined these two into one line because … well, I really should have read more of both of them. And the only book I’ve read by either is Good Omens, which I LOVED. So why haven’t I read any of their other work? I haven’t the foggiest.
  • Dawn Cook (does this count?)
    • For those of you keeping count, we’re already past 10. I tacked this one on the end because I wasn’t really sure if I should count it or not, but it’s definitely something I feel should be on this list. Dawn Cook is also known as *drum roll please* Kim Harrison. Who, if you haven’t picked up on recently, I love. Like, if I had a stalkerish bone in my body, I would be fixated on her (thankfully for everyone, I don’t possess such a bone). I’ve read her first book as Dawn Cook and immediately went out and bought the rest, the promptly set them on my shelf and didn’t read them. Even now, they’re looking at me asking “Why? Why didn’t you ever read us?” Right now at least I have an excuse—I’m in the middle of reading Kim Harrison’s most recent book (which you’ll see a review of shortly).
Posted on September 16, 2014, in Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Terry Pratchett is one of those authors who everyone told me I would like, but I never really got into. I read ‘The Colour of Magic’ and it felt so rushed and overloaded, or perhaps I just read it too fast. Either way, I think I probably need to give him another chance too!

    • I started to listen to The Colour of Magic a while back, actually. It was before I decided I was ok with audiobooks, so it didn’t sit well with me. And it was all as a single file on my mp3 player, so if I accidentally nudged the next track button it would start over, which was terribly frustrating given that I had a habit of hitting it while I walked with that player in my pocket. I was advised by some serious Pratchett fans that it might not be the best place to convince yourself that you love Pratchett :/

  2. Great List!

    Jaye Well’s books are pretty good on Audio. If you do get Coldest Girl in Coldtown that should be on Audio, I loved the narration! 🙂

    • Ooh, I’ll have to keep that in mind 🙂 My TBR on Audio list is shorter than my non-audio right now … Maybe I’ll go grab that when I finish my current endeavor…

  3. I haven’t read Good Omens but have read books by Gaiman and Pratchett on their own and really enjoyed them so maybe I should give it a go! I really like those of Pratchett’s books featuring the character of Death- Mort is very good.

    • Good Omens was terribly enjoyable. I highly recommend it. I’ve seen the movie the Hogsfather and absolutely loved Death. (It was one of those where I didn’t realize it was based on a book until after I was already invested). One of these days, I will finally actually read one of his books … Any particular you might recommend? I’ve been lead to believe that they don’t necessarily need to be read in any particular order …

  4. Love your list! If you get a chance to read Pratchett, you might try some of the Disc World books that sort of stand alone, or are of the series-within-a-series type of thing. There are four books about The Wee Free Men, which are among the funniest books I’ve ever read. With Gaiman, The Graveyard Book is charming, and Neverwhere is creepy & wonderful. I’d recommend those.

    The Carriger book you read is a spin-off of the Parasol Protectorate, which is a lot of fun, but I didn’t move on to the spin-off because I didn’t like the characters it was going to be centered around, and the abrupt ending of the Protectorate put me off, but it was fun while it lasted.

    I’ve been looking at Rothfuss for a time and couldn’t decide where to start, so you’ve given me a good idea with The Name of the Wind, thanks!

    Great list, and I enjoyed your comments. Top Ten Tuesday is always a lot of fun, and I hope you’ll continue to participate. (And I’ve got the last Hollows book in my hot little hands, but I’m putting off reading it, believe it or not, because I’m not quite ready to say goodbye to that world yet. And I was spoiled for choice this past few weeks with the newest Chicagoland, Kate Daniels, and a new Devon Monk.)

    Have a great day!

    • Thanks for the recommendations; I think one of the big excuses I keep finding to putting off Gaiman and Pratchett is that they both have such a plethora of books that I never know where to start. I’ll try to pick one of the ones you mention and settle in with one to get started.

      I knew about the Parasol Protectorate, and even own the first one in that series. I just haven’t actually read it yet :/ I’ve heard wonderful things about it, though.

      The Name of the Wind is a great book, but be prepared for the length. It’s not particularly fast-paced, but if you budget time well, it reads pretty quickly (I may or may not have very nearly pulled an all-nighter to finish it).

      I plan to continue doing these; I’ve been having fun with them, and the last couple have reminded me of things I really ought to get around to again (and/or reread since it’s been a small eternity).

      I’m listening one of the Chicagoland books right now; can’t remember where in the series it is off the top of my head. The one with the shifters getting all bent out of shape over some harpies attacking. I’m quite enjoying it, and I’m hoping to get caught back up soon 🙂

      I honestly didn’t care for the Kate Daniels series — I couldn’t really get into book 1; I read it, and it was ok, but I wasn’t inspired to continue. I’ve been told that it gets better from there, so I may give it another chance soonish. And I’ve actually managed to not read any of Devon Monk. I picked up a free copy of Dead Iron in a book exchange but it’s been sitting around the bottom of a rather large pile. :/

      Thanks for the warm comments! I’ll certainly be growing my TBR list again with some of these 🙂

  5. Brilliantly Novel

    I’m quite fond of Julie Kagawa’s work and definitely recommend finishing THE IRON FEY series. Also, if you’re looking to read more Neil Gaiman, NEVERWHERE was a really good read 🙂

    • Haha, you’re the second person who’s suggested Neverwhere, so I think that’s a winner. It and Iron Daughter are now relatively high up on my TBR 🙂

      Thanks!

  6. Terry Pratchett! I absolutely LOOOOOVE his books, and I totally recommend them! You don’t even have to go in chronological order for his Discworld books. You can just pick up one and start reading. 😀

    • Yeah, I’ve been told this many times. I think I find that more overwhelming, to be honest. There are just so many to choose from!

Leave a Reply

