Liebster Award

liebster-award

I was nominated for this award by Jen over at Bibliophage. Thank you very much! 😉

 

The Rules:

  • Link back to the person who nominated you
  • Post 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions set by your nominator
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers with under 200 followers (you can’t nominate the person who nominated you)
  • Set 11 questions for your nominees to answer
  • Let your nominees know you’ve nominated them.

11 Facts About Me:

  1. I love to read Nah, that’s cheating. I’ve written several books but have never bothered to publish
  2. I live with my boyfriend and 2 cats
  3. My cats are absolutely crazy
  4. My boyfriend is arguably crazier
  5. I play oboe
  6. I’m a borderline workaholic (if you ask my coworker, there’s no ‘borderline’ about it)
  7. I’m obsessed with Doctor Who
  8. I’m almost done with a Masters in Applied Statistics
  9. I love me some good econ
  10. I studied German for 6 years and can kinda sorta not really still speak it
  11. I studied abroad in Denmark, and was darn near fluent in Danish. And that’s why I can’t really speak German anymore.

11 Questions from Bibliophage:

  1. Why did you become a blogger?
    I was miserably out of shape with writing; I hadn’t been seriously writing in years and couldn’t convince myself to get back into it. So when I joined a book club and started getting back into reading, I thought, why not? We’d been asked to write a review for an ARC of A Conspiracy of Alchemists (The Chronicles of Light and Shadow #1) by Liesel Schwarz. I wrote my first book review ever (and seriously? It was bad; really really not very good), and decided that I could get somewhat into that. Thus began Classy Cat Books (and no, that review is not posted here; if you’re really curious, you can read it here).
  2. What was your favorite book growing up?
    As an extremely little kid, I absolutely loved Ten Apples Up On Top! by Dr. Seuss. That book was amazing.
  3. What is your favorite quote?
    I know it’s boring, but I really don’t have one. I’m not much into the quote thing …
  4. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what book or book series would you choose to have with you?
    This is hard. This is very hard. It would probably come down to Kim Harrison’s The Hollows series or Patrick Rothfuss. I’m not sure how many times I could reread either without going crazy though. I might just go with the Age of X series by Richelle Mead, depending on how it continues, for just that reason.
  5. If you could marry a fictional character, who would it be?
    Uuuhhhh … Hmmmm … I’ve never really thought about it? Probably Kvothe, from The Name of the Wind, but that might just get depressing. Maybe Mircea from Karen Chance’s Cassandra Palmer series?
  6. Who is your favorite villain (book, movie or TV)?
    When Algaliarept was actually our antagonist in Kim Harrison’s The Hollows series. I absolutely love him.
  7. If you could live anywhere, where would it be?  (Fictional places are totally within bounds.)
    Oh man, this one’s tough. I absolutely loved my time in Copenhagen, and if it weren’t for the 70% income tax I would move back in a heartbeat. Throw in some magic and that would be awesome. (In fact, I think that would make for a great setting for a book I’m considering writing).
  8. What is your favorite TV show?
    Doctor Who.
  9. What is your favorite movie?
    Uuhhhm, errrr, I don’t know? Les Miserables? DeLovely? The Princess Bride? Those are probably final candidates …
  10. What book to movie adaptation did you love or hate the most?
    I absolutely hated the Eragon movie. I used to be in love with the book (I seriously had half of the prologue memorized because, ya know, what else are you supposed to do with your free time?) but then they made that damn movie. I ended up not liking book 2 and didn’t read the rest of the series anyway, but I was so upset when that movie came out.
  11. Name one item on your bucket list.
    I really want to say I’ve been to every traditionally inhabited continent. It had actually been my goal to do this by the time I graduated college, but I didn’t quite make it. I definitely didn’t hit Africa, and I only got to South America under a limited definition of South America. Some definitions include the southeastern half of Panama among the continent of South America, some don’t. It would be nice to not have to stretch it. I’ve also already been to Australia, India, Korea, and several stops in Europe. And, of course, the US and Canada, given that I grew up in Michigan and now live in Washington.

My Nominees:

Disclaimer: As stats aren’t necessarily publicly available for all of these blogs, I used the Bloglovin’ counts for followers to determine my threshold. I’m confident this isn’t representative of true follower count.

  1. The Bookwyrm’s Hoard
  2. Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog
  3. Stephanie’s Book Reviews
  4. BookCatPin
  5. Fang-Freakin-Tastic Reviews
  6. Kittens and Books
  7. Paperback Heart
  8. Authors & Readers Book Corner
  9. Cupcakes and Popcorn
  10. Versus Blurb
  11. The Flutterby Room

Questions for the Nominees:

  1. Do you listen to music when you read? What genre?
  2. What’s your favorite snack to eat while you read? If any…
  3. Do you like cats? If not, why not?
  4. What type of animal do you most identify with?
  5. Choose an adjective/adverb that starts with the same letter as your first name and also describes you.
  6. What’s your favorite Disney movie and/or song from a Disney movie?
  7. What is your favorite word?
  8. What is your favorite book?
  9. Who is your favorite author (other than the one who wrote your favorite book)?
  10. If you could pick any character to be your best friend and/or boyfriend, who would it be and why?
  11. How many words can you make in with the letters in ‘Classy Cat’?

 

Posted on September 19, 2014, in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. You’ve done pretty well with your travels 🙂 I love travelling too but I’m pretty ignorant with languages. Do you think if you travelled to Germany or Austria you might get back into practice and pick the language up again? Does it work like that?
    Thanks again for nominating me! I’m looking forward to answering your questions, especially the last one. I love those sorts of games!

    • Thanks! I’m pretty certain that if I did go back to one of those countries, I’d fall back into it pretty comfortably. I was speaking Danish decently well after only a month or so, and I hadn’t ever studied it—admittedly, there are some obvious similarities to German, so that helped. But I’d guess that going to Germany would bring the German back significantly more quickly. Last time I was there I wasn’t nearly as rusty as I am now, but I was feeling pretty comfortable with it after a couple of days of being forced to use it, and I was thinking in it again by the end of the week.

      I can’t wait to read your answers! 🙂

  2. Thanks so much! I really appreciate it! Since I’ve already done a Liebster Award post before, I’m just going to answer the questions here!

    1.Do you listen to music when you read? What genre?
    I don’t usually listen to music while I read, but I usually have the tv on in the background

    2.What’s your favorite snack to eat while you read? If any…
    Twizzlers

    3.Do you like cats? If not, why not?
    I’m ok with cats. I’ve always been more of a dog person. There was a stray cat we fed when I was little and I was petting it and it scratched me and I think that kind of scarred me for life haha. However, I think it’s in my destiny to end up with lots of cats one day, so I’ll have to get over it.

    4.What type of animal do you most identify with?
    I’m not really sure.

    5.Choose an adjective/adverb that starts with the same letter as your first name and also describes you.
    Sarcastic

    6.What’s your favorite Disney movie and/or song from a Disney movie?
    Beauty and the Beast or The Little Mermaid.

    7.What is your favorite word?
    I don’t think I really have a specific word that I use a lot.

    8.What is your favorite book?
    So many, put I’m going to say Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

    9.Who is your favorite author (other than the one who wrote your favorite book)?
    Oooh tough one because Rainbow Rowell is usually my go to answer for this question. But I think I’ll go with Jane Austen.

    10.If you could pick any character to be your best friend and/or boyfriend, who would it be and why?
    (Let’s just say that these answers would be age appropriate): Kami Glass from the Lynburn Legacy would be my BFF and I would date Levi from Fangirl

    11.How many words can you make in with the letters in ‘Classy Cat’?
    1.Class
    2. act
    3. lass
    4. ass
    4. sat
    5. last
    6. clay
    7. acts
    8. lasts
    9. atlas
    10. say
    That’s all I can think of. Did I win??

  3. Thanks so much for nominating me! I have actually already been nominated and done a post for this, but it means a lot to me either way 😀

Leave a Reply

